Here’s how I do it.
Before starting – Mental notes:
- Be hard. Understand no one gives a flamingo about you. They wouldn’t waste a nano crumb of their jelly moose nose. Anyone outside your circle only cares about their own circle. Deep down you already know this. Accept this fact. Move on.
- Want it. SERIOUSLY want it. Be the definition of persistence. Day in. Day out. Move mountains until the lead buys, dies or blocks you. If there are 10,000 other widget sellers in their inbox then it’s going [insert verb] be your widgets they buy. Sod those 9,999. They’ll quit after generic email 5 on the first week. You KNOW your widget/service can perform ABC/123 result for them and it WILL help this lead – EDUCATE him to death. Rub the results in his face. FORCE this person to understand how your widget will CHANGE his business and therefore HIS LIFE for the better. If you don’t feel this way then you don’t believe in your product, this is okay. I Just saved you a wasted lifetime. Spend this newly realised time on finding that widget and for some reason, right after, ‘sales’ becomes the easiest thing in the world. Go figure.
- Focus a day or a part of your day on making money. I mean making money. Not some fluffy nice task you feel ‘supports’ making money like your funnel, fulfilment, some CRM Zapier issue… Heck sitting here and writing this is making my skin crawl as its not making me a penny right now. You need to wake up each day to put bread on the table. Understand the NEED to focus your allocated time on MONITARY tasks. Nothing else will pay. Do not fall into the trap of 12 hour days that, looking back, literally was spent ‘playing business’. Hour in, money out – or you’re only playing this game whilst we’re over here counting money. Prospect gen > Lead contact > Calls > Sales > Repeat. That’s the reason why sales IS the highest earning position in an org you can ever have. No such thing as Bad sales guys. They’re all starved and dead.
- Tools – You maybe one man but you don’t need to operate as one man. Automation and third-party tools are force multipliers to an unimaginable extent. Infinitely scale your ability to earn per hour invested. Optimize and repeat. Warning though, take this with heeded breath. Do not get sucked into this. Optimizing a pile of doo is still, yeah lol. Get it done manually, proven, before you bother to waste a penny. A tool will not hold you back or be the excuse you didn’t come home with food today.
Got all that? Great, let’s get to it.
Step 1 – Product / Service offering.
You need something that is immediately recognisable as a valued offering with little to no explanation needed. Something difficult to copy or seen as a ‘waste’ to go around you, so to speak. An example would be a time saving opportunity via management services. Or access to knowledge/processes to generate a higher than normal return via specialised skills.
In summary, offer something in the realm of: Make more money – Save Money – Increase Speed to Money. Wrapped in a 0 risk process.
Example offerings: cheap/free Google my business reputation management. Outsourced, $0 cost lead generation management. Investment/grant/funding generation. Think covid small business loans / energy bill grants / small employer related grants etc.
It has to hit a tone of legitimacy and serious intrigue.
“3 businesses, a – b and c have just averaged $15,000 in government backed grants to help with rising energy bills – We have the paperwork here. Would you be interested for us to talk you though doing this for [their business name]”
Only win email replies. They have nothing to lose.
Here’s a quick tip to help when it comes to discovering this ‘perfect’ offering:
YouTube.
Try researching YouTube videos in and around your market that are very popular.
- Type in your keyword, find a popular channel in this result and then just begin filtering their videos by ‘most popular’. Or just fliter by all search results by view count.
- Click it, check it out see if it’s relevant. Then copy the URL and paste it into https://youtuberandomcomment.com/
- You can download every comment into a .JSON file to make it organised.
- Go get Notepad ++ too.
- Now open your chosen YouTube video’s downloaded comments and open with Notepad ++
- Every comment will be one a single line. Not that useful. Let’s change that.
- Press CTRL + H This will open the find and replace function.
- Type in “textDisplay” inside of ‘find’
- And type in \n inside of ‘replace’
- *Make sure Extended Search is checked at the bottom.
- Enter. Now you’ll have your comments all on new lines.
- Now just press CRTL + F and type in ‘?’ to find all questions in the new, bottom window.
- Analyse the questions to create basic frequency charts of recurring questions.
You’ve now just quickly highlighted literally every question posted on this video from a core target audience in this niche.
LinkedIn too. Don’t forget that one.
Now you have a strong basis to craft an offer or just to gain clarity on a market’s sentiment to their pains right now and any little golden nuggets.
Step 2 – Homework
This is where, believe it or not, most fall off. Big time. The ‘business owner’ kid types think just because they have some scraped list / a new WordPress theme / some guru’s accelerator course with a 5 day email template sequence they’ll now be able to mass send cold emails and fill a pipeline hungry for their $3,000/m locked in contract Facebook management services… *Passively*… LOL
Listen, I don’t need to spell this part out for you.
The more work you do here, the higher the probability of a strong, pre-sold, lead.
Try thinking from the perspective of ‘top-down’.
Market > Business > Individual
Known Pains > Known Objectives > Known systems
Paint a picture of an individual waking up to drive to his place of work, to sit in an office using ABC system/s, to continue work on solving the goal of XYZ, all the while handling the nagging issue/s of 123…
If you can understand this landscape, from this simple perspective, you are now immensely better prepared to introduce yourself, your value, and your steps to access this person.
You know, the thing is too. This isn’t actually hard to apply.
Think of the market. It has problems. You get this part, everyone talks on it. Now think of how ‘these’ businesses in ‘this’ area are going about solving this. They’re all trying to sell with their own competitive advantage, via price, warranty, logistics, yada yada.
Design your outreach to this picture. Edit your offer to reflect this.
Now find the individual/s. They’re people with lives right? They like stuff? They have fears? Write your email to this effect. Mention your mutual like in the DM. Change your formal/informal natural speech cadence to better reflect this persons idea of an authority/person of trust. Do they give a monkey about speed to ROI or are they playing with a blank cheque? Do they care about immediate cost savings or are their timelines more so quarter to quarter?
Knowing your homework, can be all you seriously need to just foodly-oodly begin getting actual responses. Strong responses. Oh and its also all the leg work you need to begin automating this step. More on that later on with VA’s.
This is where you might discover that using email is pointless – focus on direct mail.
This is where you discover your leads eat their breakfast at 4am in a truck – Focus on SMS outreach.
You get the point. Crack on.
Step 3 – Provide unconditional TRUE value with no catch. Give everything away.
The mouse and the bazooka.
You’re going to hate this but [bad word] your feelings.
We’re here to make money not pamper your lazy ass.
Right here is where you can quickly filter out the wastes from the gems.
Give everything you have to offer, upfront, for free.
Yup.
Take a look at this blog post so far… Notice how I’ve kinda just given my entire road map without a single catch, paywall, or some sleezy waffle filled premade webinar?
Tools used, how to set up the email inboxes, tricks to get around DKIM / MTA advanced installation…
I’ve been in the game of marketing long enough to know that if you don’t go at the mouse with the bazooka, not much else is going work my friend.
I’m talking to a real guy, prob aged between 25-35 that’s yet to make any serious wealth online but has yet to give up… Probably burned a few times, brought a few courses, clicked a few guru esk ads, but still looking… I could keep going but here’s my point.
You’ve seen it all here online when it comes to business related info / catches to get your money in this space.
You’ve seen the auto-webinars, the book funnels, the flash cars in-front of the cheap tripwire offers.
What have I been trying to drum into you so far about standing out, doing your homework and having an offer that’s difficult to just rip-off. I don’t just write this shit, I live it lol
Put your entire offering on the page / email / letter.
The works.
How it works, how you have authority in your work, how the risk to try proven to be 0.
If you have a 5 step process to help businesses with <50 employees to earn upwards of $5,000 in government backed grants for each employee they have with ABC insurance group…TELL THEM HOW.
Trust meeeeeeeee – I’m telling you it will blow them away AND they’ll want you to just do it for them!!!
I don’t care if it turns out to be a 10,000 word page with 10 videos and take 2 months to make. It will put your kids through college AND get you that new car with a weekend car for your girlfriend.
Think of it like this.
Your offer is a mind-blowing tweet
AND
A 10 part irrefutable process to get a determined result OR your investment/time returned.
That is what sells your open. What sells your reply. What sells your booked call. What sells your widget.
If your offer is so generic and has no clear competitive advantage. This is the reason you feel cold email doesn’t work. Your product just isn’t 1% worthy. But knowing this fact alone can be all you need to begin focus on an idea/product that is.
“We manage your Facebook ads to help…” Already lost them mate.
“Our clients have seen 2,000% return on their SEO inv…” spam.
“[first name], quick one –
The building manager, I forget the name. Just didn’t seem to care about the continued complaints of the unreliable cleaners skipping all the pressed in dirt on our carpets, growing food waste left in the shared spaces on floor 3. Not to mention ‘forgetting’ to clean our surfaces with actual disinfectant…
I wanted pass on the name of a few guys that now handle all our cleaning, 100% free. They cleaned our office for free, the entire week.
We’ll save about £2,000 a year with these guys [business name]. They’ve been coming in every evening this past month, not just when they felt like it. I promised them I would share their name with other occupants if they did a great job. They offered to clean for free and are paid on performance with no contact.
If you check them out we’ll get a weeks work for free. I’m sure they’ll offer [their business name] the same.
Here’s [our name] email. Tell them [tagged name] sent you and we’ll get credit.
Check them out, cost you nothing.”
Jord rep at [business name]
See the difference?
Found a high valued office job that’s just moved into the building. Name of the individual in charge of the office and direct mention of key areas of known headaches with office cleaners. Not to mention the no risk offer. Free service with no commitment? What have I got to lose? Also notice the clear mention of a ‘weeks work for free’ in return for their referral. People don’t like to be sold. Ever. I always present a clear logical justification for every outreach I send. A sale negotiation isn’t what we want. It presents a win/lose argument. Risk to reward. In this case, a referral of a service we know they need backed by the motive of a free week themselves is all we need to shift the mental win/lose seesaw to a profit/advantage opportunity.
Try it. You’re welcome.
Step 4 – Human Touch
I’m about to tell you how to get a 200% increase to email CTA’s.
Personalization. That’s it.
Source – https://blog.hubspot.com/marketing/personalized-calls-to-action-convert-better-data
Over 70% of consumers expect personalization in their online communication
Apply it literally everywhere you can, when you can.
You’re talking to real people, with real problems and their own bullshit going on. They’re not stupid and they know you don’t really give a monkey about them you’re just after some kinda sale *spoilers*
(re-read the last part about shifting the leads mindset from win/lose to opportunity/profit)
Oh and they know you didn’t just do some market research and found ABC problem with their website lol *double spoilers*
Write like a human because you’re writing TOO a human.
Keep it short.
Read it out loud.
You have microseconds to:
Prove you’re worth the reader’s time.
Prove your product can help them solve a problem (and demonstrate how via your CTA).
Have your company feel/look professional enough to be ignored. No one cares about your name, footer code or the fact you’ve spent 2 months building your landing page/offer. The reader wont trust you yet but that’s fine. You only need to prove value first. Trust comes later.
Keep as much ‘professional’ iconography / ‘speak’ out of it.
A professional, well framed profile pic, your domain and a very small footer (if any). That’s all you need.
It has to look like an email you quickly send your pal about a link to a dropbox file.
A few lines about a person not making it to the 3pm call but this person is coming instead.
Strong, real human communication. But please, match this up to your target. If they wear a suit, have a profile pic in a suit kinda stuff.
Few tips on finding unique personalization points for your lead:
- Software/Tools they use. Try using www.whatruns.com to scan a leads website to get an idea on what’s being used on it. If they use WooCommerce for instance, then bam, that could be a unique point to swing. Or you could try using Builtwith.com and search for leads by a specific tool used.
- Trigger events. New location, website. New company incorp or an award won. Seasonal or specific company events.
- Use a few of the below databases for a point of personalization. Yelp ratings, lack of Google my business, no FB pixel present on the site, etc. These are god like personalization points.
- Location. Deep dive as much as you can be arsed. Country > State / Region > City. American market all the way down to a local bar in that companies city.
- Mutual interests. Products, services, goals, connections, sports, events and passions.
- Recent news. Covid, bounce back loans, energy rebates.
Don’t waste 4 hours here. A little work speaks volumes.
Example here:
Calling out their current situation. Problems and desired pleasures.
Your product is the BEST + ONLY solution. Told in a passive voice, indirectly. Otherwise, they won’t believe you and you’ll sound like spam.
Here’s a few ideas on how to automate a unique personalised outreach system.
I’ve figured out how to include a video/thumbnail of me holding up a whiteboard, with the leads name on, that then goes to a landing page filled with their unique details on. Name, company, targets etc etc.


I can automate this entire process to 1 or 10,000 leads.
I don’t care what you think of me for this part, but this is all I do whenever I feel a little down on my monthly earnings/meeting/want more money. It blows up my schedule for the coming weeks.
You’ll have to let me know if you want that.
Step 5 – Lead Sources
Now you know what gets strong engagement, you’re going to need leads. A LOT of leads…
Here’s a quick list of targeted leads:
LinkedIn:
Email Warming Tool:
- instantly.ai
Email Hunter:
Before you jump into LinkedIn, you’re going to need a correctly optimized LinkedIn profile. Pro tip here – I never said you should stick to just a SINGLE profile either… *wink *wink
If you’re looking for the best way to go about LinkedIn for no nonsense lead generation in 2022, I’ve put together a resource you can rip off for yourself here
Databases:
- Snov.io
- zoominfo
- leadzen
- Builtwith
- Dataaxleusa (previously called Info USA)
- Jordan Carter’s Database (100m+ fully fledged leads, contact me for access)
- Business Directories (Yellow Pages, Yelp, Clutch, fastpeoplesearch.com etc)
- Government Business Directories (USA directories, etc)
Don’t get lost in leads. Here’s a quick flow to knock this out a few thousand leads in the next hour:
- ID your target lead data. Industry, Location, position/title.
- Sort by posts/engagement in the last 30 days. Recency is your friend.
- Extract using any above solution
- Organise and store within your Kanban / sales CRM
If you want specific steps on finding leads for your personal use, book a coffee call with me. I’ll help you out with a paid profit share arrangement.
Bonus tip – Verify your data. Use the tool neverbounce.com or xverify.com to verify your emails.
Step 6 – Buy Domains
Listen, you don’t want to be dealing with setting up your own SMTP’s or figuring out wtf a DKIM even is. So skip all that advanced stuff and do what just skips all that set up.
Buy your sending domains all from Google. Forward to your prospect specific landing page or just a website you own. Set up said email domains to forward all messages to your primary inbox, with tracking also set up. Let’s you know which site/inbox is getting these leads.
You’re going need 10-25 similar domains with similar TLD’s (the end part, .com or .gov bit)
Primary Website:
YourCompanyName.com
Email Mule Sites:
YourComapnyName.io – YourComName.org – YourComapnyName.uk – ComapnyName.co.uk
Why?
Because Gmail dominates the world of email. Billions of users and the most popular primary inbox for entire countries. [source]
Double why?
Because I’m not going into having explain MX, TXT records, with an added layer of SMTP, MTA and DKIM when it comes to setting up a dedicated email system that actually inboxes.
Here’s how you’ll go about doing this:
- Buy the domains. Similar looking with different TLD’s. Cost about $10 each.
- Redirect all domains to your primary domain / target domain.
- Create 1 inbox per domain.
*I strongly recommend for beginners to just buy a Gsuite account. All the below stuff about SPF, DKIM etc, will automatically be solved with a Gsuite account. Add a profile pic, physical address and basic footer. Do all this inside your new account*
*Bonus Step*
Fill out a real profile for these accounts. The trick here is to look and act like a real person. Exist outside of email. Have a website, a LinkedIn, a social media profile. Be subscribed to other business newsletters, SAAS companies etc. Try not to use the EXACT same profile photo for each. You don’t need to have a photo with 10 different outfits, just use something that a computer will see as ‘unique’. Different file size / type. Slightly different dimensions. Flipped. Warped slightly. Check out thispersondoesnotexist.com and just refresh a few times. Collect them up. I’m saying google isn’t stupid here…
- Add those domains to Instantly.
- Sort out MX, DKIM, SPF and DMARC records if you did not go the gsuite route.
- Go into the websites DNS zone and add your TXT record. Used for tracking.
- Login to each of the new inboxes and turn on IMAP and 2-step Authentication.
- Once you’ve set up 2-step Authentication, you’ll see a new option appear: App Passwords. Click on it and create a custom record. Call it whatever you like.
- Copy the generated password and store it safely.
- Set up a ‘master’ inbox for replies.
- Begin warming up process (found below)
- Wait 10-14 days. Use this time productively. I recommend you buy me a coffee in this time for even more alpha strategies here.
- Begin your actual outreach now
- Send 10-20 emails per domain
- Gradually increase send amounts until you hit 30-40 per day.
Done. Move on.
Step 7 – Set up Email Inboxes / Warm up
1 Inbox per domain. You can set up more per domain but this is completely pointless as it’s the domain that get blacklisted not the inbox.
Use instantly.ai to warm them up.
You can go about this next part however you like. Its not in stone. Be flexible here and use this as a rough guide.
Setting up Instantly:
- After creating your account click on ‘Add New’ button
- Select the Gsuite option
- IMAP has been enabled
- 2 Factor Authorisation has been enabled
- Add inbox details
- Add that password you made earlier with the custom record.
- Connect
Individual email inbox Instantly warm up process:
- Click the desired inbox you want to warm up
- Turn on custom tracking domain (e.g. track.domain.com)
- You’re going to need a tracking system too. So many out there. If you want one of the best that don’t break the bank, use these guys. Set and forget tracking.
- Increase send limit by 1-5 per day. I stick to 2.
- Daily warmup limit: 20-45. I use 35.
- Reply rate % set around 30%
- Daily Limit: 25-35. I use 30
- Wait time: 2-4 minutes.
- Open rate: 100%
- Spam protection: 100%
- Mark important: 50%
If you’ve followed the above correctly, you should have a domain, connected to an inbox that has been semi-aggressively warmed up and now ready for outreach. Let’s do some quick math.
1 inbox can send 40 emails a day.
…You just set up 25…
That’s 40 * 25 = 1,000 contact emails being sent per 24 hours.
Using personalization, we can estimate using sourced data that when the subject line is personalized, emails have an average open rate of 7.4%. [source] My goal is to exceed a 35%-80% open rate.
(Yes an 80% open rate via cold emails)
Industry standard – 1,000 emails sent per day = 7 Opens Per Day
Jordan Carter – 1,000 emails sent per day = 35 Opens Per Day
Response rate is a more accurate metric to determine true product market fit. Open rates can be seen as a more deliverability metric. A general rule of thumb, a response rate % that is half of your open rate, is an indicator of a strong message to market fit.
Industry Standard – 1,000 emails sent per day * 1% Reply Rate = 10 Response Per Day
Jordan Carter – 1,000 emails sent per day * 16% Reply Rate = 160 Responses Per Day
Now not every response is going to be what we would call ‘positive’. You’re going to get everything and anything in between. Thus I go with a goal of 50% of all replies being somewhere in the region of what I want. “I’m interested” – “Send info” – “Can you do Wednesday, 3pm?”. You get it.
Industry Standard – Positive response rate = 50% = 5 Leads
Jordan Carter – Positive response rate = 50% = 80 Leads
From this metric of positive responses, we now need to move the lead to a call. This could be via sending a calendar link, or the lead booking for themselves after visiting your provided CTA website that contains more pre-framing info. My goal is a flat 5% from emails sent or 50% of all positively responsive leads. Anything more and I see it as free money.
Industry Standard – Booked Call Rate = 50% = 2 Calls Per Day
Jordan Carter – Booked Call Rate = 50% = 40 Calls Per Day
This is where metrics get very ‘meh’. I can use my basis close rate target of 1:5 or 20% as to keep the math simple. But the goal here is to never take a call with a lead that DOESN’T know your prices/pitch before hand. I don’t waste a single second of my “sales reps” time with what you’ll call ‘selling’ – All my reps are more so Q/A staff – not sales. I’m not biasing the food on my table solely upon the skill of third parties. I take the probability of a successful closed lead event out of the hands of the words a human might say, and place it solely on my marketing. All these guys need to do is take my leads payment details and answer a few questions to reaffirm the decision the lead has already made in their mind.
Study this section gentlemen.
Close rate of 20% on a performance backed retainer (pay per lead)
For an Average Order Value, let’s go with a 10%, pay per booked call model where the leads Life Time Value (LTV) is worth $1,000. Very conservative for the example.
*Using Industry Standard Data*
Costs:
1 Gsuite starter plan = $4.84 each
25 inboxes x 4.84 = $121/month
# of working days in a year = 260
Calls booked per month = 43
(260*2= 520 | 520/12 = 43)
*Using Industry Standard Data*
Revenue:
10% of a $1,000 Lead (just the booked call, regardless of a sales) = $100 Per Lead
43 calls booked per month = $4,300 in revenue
$4,300 – gross costs of $121 = $4,179 Net Profit per calendar month.
Now do the math for sending 25,000 emails for your own client lead gen…
AND
5,000 emails per day for all closed clients on the above pay per lead model.
I just changed your life lol
Don’t get too carried away though. You still need to craft your emails and understand the power of follow-up!
Step 8 – Craft outreach flow
I could write a book on this part but I’ll keep it to the point. You know, the bare minimum you need to get this done. I’m about action here not theory circle jerking.
You need to stand out, show worth in their life, get them to positively respond about getting said value, then fudge away!…
That’s it.
You’re here to rip off my cold email prospecting strategy and fud me off asap with no real recourse. Maybe if this works and you make something you might be inclined to read my next article or buy my book, ect.
Do you personally care about me? No. You care as much and for how long it takes to absorb my knowledge on this subject and apply it to an end to make money.
Period.
Do the exact same with your email correspondence.
A fantastic email / message could literally just be:
[name], are you still lead product dev at [company]? [tool they use – builtwith.com] just had a data breach. Go change your info with them.
I’ve been using [my cta] as its going on to be the best to solve [client core pain] in [client industry]
I can get you a discount as its my associate company. Let me know, happy as [their colleague name] helped us back in 2021.
Jordan Carter
Yes that’s a 100% cold lead, never before contacted on any platform. Never had any support or help from their colleague before as Its just a scraped name from their LinkedIn and they wrote 1 article on some bullshit on their blog as my pass in case they ask.
Do they care about any of that? No. Why? Because I just got to the damn point about a huge fear and lead with an immediate solution.
Loss aversion is a principal based upon multiple psychological studies that illustrate humans are more motivated by the fear of losing something than they are by gaining something. https://scholar.princeton.edu/sites/default/files/kahneman/files/anomalies_dk_jlk_rht_1991.pdf
Neil Patel found the use of fear vs a pleasure in PPC ads resulted in a 70% higher click through rate and a 18.8% increase in conversions compared to the positive ad.
It’s a perfect little ice breaker to lead with more value.
[Unique pain identified in their business] + [clear path to solving pain] + [bonus points for adding even MORE value on top]
Scatter as much unique personalization in there as you can and bam. You’re onto a real winner.
Oh and I forgot to say.
Don’t bother trying to go for a sale or even a call in the first email.
It isn’t happening mate.
You’ll need to have a god tier offer that’s beyond perfect for that.
Its easier to design a real value backed content piece or stages to get to a solution and let them know about it via an email sequence.
Then, just let them know of it.
Send between 5am-6am or between 7pm-9pm (not on a Friday).
Send on a weekday.
General tips here:
If this wasn’t obvious at this point. Do the opposite of what everyone else is. Go left when they go right. Don’t ask for a call / quick call / “are you free”. Send custom no strings value without an ask.
Example flow could be:
- Quick question regarding their offer / problem-solution based
- Reason for the question
- Follow-up Reminder
- Follow-up…
- Follow-up again…
- Guess what…Yup Follow-up…
Resources to help with email design. I generally don’t use these as it goes against my principle of being different. 99% of these guys are making shit money on the backs of some alternative motive.
Yeah I’m not copying your stuff lol
But just because it helps pad out and I know you love templates, easy money, here is some more stuff:
- Swipefile.com
- ReallyGoodEmails (deposit of emails)
- Mailshake.com/masterclass (cold email “masterclass”)
- Copywrittingexamples.com
- Stakedmarketer.com
- Marketingexamined.com
Step 9 – Follow-up
The difference between those that make real money in prospecting and sales are the same people that make serious gains in the gym.
Persistence.
You’re going need to automate this part as best you can without robots. We’re not stopping the personalization train just because its getting harder and a simple c/p 2 week email sequence will be easier…
Oh no…
We’re going hard until they sign up with us, block us or die!
I use Virtual Assistants. That’s the secret.
Outsource your replies to $8/h VA’s and set up a templated visual flow of responses with tags. Can easily be set up and automated via a CRM.
Working with VA’s can be a nightmare. Seriously. They’re both the best and worst thing when it comes to optimising your time.
If you mess this step up, you not only wasted your time, began to realise you may as well have done it yourself but a fair chunk of change too.
To make this as idiot proof as humanly possible. Make your required tasks so mind-numbingly clear – use visual aids and a fool proof specific request.
Here is an example:

Key tips here:
- Specific Event > Specific Outcome. You’re not paying for thinking and independence here. You’re paying for salve-esk labour to copy/paste and click some boxes. So don’t expect them to read your mind.
- Step by step instructions – Outlay every possible anticipated outcome from every possible input. Now design every step they need to follow, in order, for them to complete their ‘loop’.
- Videos, images, flow charts. Use all these tools to make this 100% idiot proof.
- Check in times at key times – Critical. You want VA’s especially when it’s a new task to make sure they’re following your steps OR when in practice your steps are just broken. Set an estimated amount of hours per task and a time for them to check in. E.g. “This should take no longer than 3 hours. Please check in with me after 1 hour for review.”
- Don’t forget the other steps of this cold email outreach. Imagine 5 guys working all day on scraping and 6 guys working solely on lead homework for a better outreach… Now you’re thinking…
Before you hire a VA for the first time you need to understand the role yourself. 99% of you wouldn’t have ever hired anyone before. This is arguably a good thing. Hiring is a luxury and most will never need to – other than for vanity. But nearly all of you should have worked for someone before. Of which I bet there’s been a few instances of ‘I could do it better than this twit’ – We’ll see.
Knowing the task thoroughly prior to discussing an outsourced solution is again, critical to defining your work flows. As such, do not rush into this. Do it all yourself and record your experiences.
If you’re not ready for VA’s –
Just follow up with your own templated responses that always continue to add value or connect the lead to where the value is – aka – a call with you.
Never underestimate the power of just checking up on a lead. Keep your name on their mind. Try texting a friend just to see how they are. Don’t ask for anything just ask “did you get home alright?”. You’ll make their day. Strangers want to feel like someone cares, even if they don’t care about you.
That’s it. Yup. All you really need. It gets a little advanced in areas but the hardest part is the action. You’re going want to flip-flop on your tasks and open YouTube or some Gen-z esk video site.
Short answer is – You’re either going do the work or you’re not.
If you want to ensure you’ll do the work, check out my profit share calls. I tell you what to do and you go ahead and do it with the accountability. All I ask is 50% of the profit made for the first year and a skin in the game fee. To make sure you’re serious about the commitment.